Travelogue: Middle East (Part 1)

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaahi wa Barakaatuh,

I came back only 2 days ago but I feel like I left a big chunk of me behind. Is it selfish of me to say that I wish I’m back in Makkah & Madina when I just returned whilst there were 1,500 others in my country whose visas were not approved? …Doesnt make sense? 😦 Hmm..

I miss being surrounded by people who are constantly doing dhikr, reading Qur’an or just doing a good deed. No evil talk. No idling. No backbiting. Only in constant remembrance of Him. I miss being there. Period.

My heart used to ache at the thought of wanting to be in Masjidil Haram and Nabawi badly. And now that I’m back, it’s starting to hurt once more.. ya Allah! Invite me to Your house once more.. I yearn to be there again. I want to be around mukmins so that I can be one of them. =,(

A sister asked me this question today: Do you feel different after Umrah?

I can’t tell if I have changed even slightly. Allah knows best but time will tell if my umrah is mabrur. You can tell that umrah is mabrur if a person comes home better than he was before performing umrah and he consistently does good deeds and avoid munkar till he dies. May He accept our umrah and good deeds.. Allahu Mustaan.

We took an 8hr flight to Riyadh, an hour transit and then 2hrs flight to Jeddah. Upon reaching, the coach was waiting for us and we spent 5hrs to reach Madina. We reached just in time for Fajr at Masjid Quba’ (Pic).

I didn’t take any pics of Masjid Nabawi since women are not allowed to enter with handphones/cameras. Also, we were there for just a day so time was a factor. Subhan Allaah, Masjid Nabawi is so gorgeous btw!!

We left for Makkah the next morning and were there for 3 days. There were some problems with our visa. Initially we were granted almost a week in Makkah & Madina but Saudi only gave us 3 days in Makkah & Madina. Our ustadh managed to plead to the Saudi embassy to extend our visa and al-hamdulillah we were granted an extra day in Makkah. Pic: Anyway, that’s the view of Masjidil Haram from our room πŸ™‚ Al-hamdulillah..

Pic: Managed a quick snap after doing tawaf!

Pics: Masjidil Haram at night before maghrib prayers

My dad mentioned something interesting. He said that despite hundreds of pigeons at Masjidil Haram, he has never seen birds perched on Ka’abah. Neither did he see bird droppings on it. That’s just his observation..

Pic: Sa’i – safar to marwar.

Pic: My mom found it difficult to spot me in Bin Dawood where 70-80% women inside then were in all black w niqaab. LOL.

We did our tawaf wida’ on the 4th day at 4am since our flight to Jordan was at 10am. Β I was already tearing a little at the thought of leaving Makkah but when the first athan for Fajr started, I broke down. I just couldnt hold back my tears anymore when reality suddenly hit me that I won’t be there until Allah wills it that I come back =,( Al-hamdulillah, at least I was given the opportunity to visit both places that I’ve come to love.

Pic: It took about 2hrs to reach Jordan from Jeddah

Our Jordanian tour guide greeted us at the airport and brought us to a gift shop where we bought souvenirs and later placed our big luggages there since we were travelling light to Palestine. Pic: Found this intriguing.. Christians believe that Jesus A.S was baptised in Jordanian river thus this water is sold for baptism.

Jordan Valley

More pics of Jordan Valley.

Down the Jordan Valley headed straight for Israeli customs.

Part 2: In Palestine πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Travelogue: Middle East (Part 1)

  1. ma’shaAllah, i Love all the pictures you took πŸ™‚ The funny thing is that I didn’t know that we couldn’t take our mobiles inside masjid Al Nabawai until after 2 or 3 days of entering with it, hehe. (When I finally found out, I looked really guilty, I guess :P).

    Alhamdillah your uztadh was able to plead for one last day πŸ™‚

    I know what you mean though about missing it ❀ It is truly like a different world. ma'sahAllah. So away from all the sins and vices of this world. May Allah accept your umrah and grant you many more visits πŸ™‚

    • Hehehe yes, I didn’t know until someone mentioned that we couldnt bring in handphone. At least you could enter Masjid Nabawi! Hehe, I wanted to smuggle my phone in but I keep getting thoroughly searched. The lady at the door kept touching my arms just to check lol lol..

      Ameeeennn! Jazakillah khayr for the kind words sis ❀

      p/s just wondering which little aunty had been commenting here πŸ™‚ is it the same aunty or …aunties take turn to comment hehehe πŸ˜›

  2. i have the same feeling when I left the Holy land, sister. Especially Makkah but honestly, it’s hard for me to cry when I was there. I only cried soon when I was in the plane and when I reached my home in Malaysia. To me, Makkah and Madinah are my second home. It’s different actually being there, than being in other places in the world. I felt much safer, nothing to worry about. I also felt calm because all I need to do is go to the mosque, pray, do other ibadah, eat and sleep. No need to think about works and studies. But those are still our responsibilities. =) May Allah send me there again with my family. Only if I have wings… I would fly there.

    p/s I enjoy watching the cute children. I miss to watch the pigeons and of course, the Kaabah.

    • Aww sis πŸ™‚ .. I thank Allah that He put this love and mercy in our hearts as there are some people who find it a waste of time to visit Makkah and Madinah again once they have gone there. Don’t worry sis, if Allah wills it, both of us have this opportunity some day to live in either of these places. Maybe we will end up meeting there too, who knows hehe? πŸ™‚ And that’s true sis about having responsibilities. We should not be simply thinking of ourselves but for the Ummah.. if every Muslim moves to Makkah/Madinah, who is going to give the da’wah to the non-Muslims yea? πŸ™‚

      p/s/ hehe me too! The pigeons especially!!.. the kids are adorable but I am quite intimidated by some of them.. :))

Leave a Reply

