Updates..

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaahi wa Barakaatuh 🙂

Afwan for disappearing and leaving this blog dormant lately.  Can’t say how surprised I was to receive comments from lovely sisters whilst I was away 🙂 Jazakillah khayr for the kind words and most importantly, putting a smile on my face 🙂 I had been feeling bouts of homesickness lately :/But  Been on the phone with mom and dad very often just to hear stories from back home..

Al-hamdulillah, I moved to a new place so there were lots of unpacking and cleaning to do. My room is the biggest as compared to the rest hehe yay! The toilet is just opposite the room, I get the fridge to myself and it is only a few steps away, a microwave, sofa and television all in my very own comfort zone! Doesn’t get any more anti-social than this! Btw, my rent is the cheapest too 😉

There was a bomb scare when I was in the city today. Police told us to evacuate from buildings immediately but people started to get excited instead. I keep hearing “This is the first time we experience something like this.. wow so fun!

Fun!!?! It’s time like this I wish I was allowed to strangle people. We are talking about people possibly getting killed in the event it does occur.. My worst fear is that it’s usually the Muslim community who bears the brunt. Blame is immediately directed at Muslims whether there is valid evidence or not. There’s a saying, ‘Muslims are guilty until they are proven guilty’..

When I came here years ago,  there were a couple times where I had been harassed in public.. for being a Muslim of course. This is in fact, many years after 9/11 which leaves me wondering how long it would take before all these ceases.

Al-hamdulillah, honestly  I think the situation has improved now but it’s  just the occasional run-ins with Islamophobes. One of the few things I’m impressed with is the government’s efforts to protect our rights as a minority in the country. When a politician suggested to ban niqaab, many politicians stood up against him and argued that Aussie ’embraces diversity’ thus to impose this ban would suggest they are not open to differences. Also recently, when another politician tried to enforce stricter regulations for only Muslims to migrate into the country, again, other politicians were against it. So far, none of these had been implemented in the country. Once, we had a visit by the local police who are assigned to protect the Muslim community should we be faced with any assaults, harassments from the general public. We get a special hotline for that too 😛

I’m hoping this incident wouldn’t put the country at edge. Or worse, the community starts becoming suspicious of each other.

Ala Kulli hal… thought I share duas with all of you to be read before leaving the house.  May Allah protect us from any harm when we are outside the comforts of our home..

‘In the name of Allaah, I place my trust in Allaah, and there is no might nor power except with Allaah.’

‘O Allaah, I take refuge with You lest I should stray or be led astray, or slip or be tripped, or oppress or be oppressed, or behave foolishly or be treated foolishly.’

 

Leave a Reply

