Please practise what you preach!

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaahi wa Barakaatuh,

‎”O you who believe, why do you say what you do not do?” [60:2]

(Don’t mind me but I feel like ranting a bit tonight.)

I’m sure most of you would have seen or heard of this ayaah before. I’m really getting frustrated at such people nowadays. Yes I know, no one is perfect.. and I’m not expecting anyone to be but the least one can do is when correcting someone, please don’t be committing that same sin. You would find it appalling if for example, someone tells a smoker to stop smoking but you can find a ciggie in his hand!

Years ago when I had to learn Islam from scratch, I turned to this person in my Uni for help with the Deen. She corrected me from A-Z and said that whatever I was doing/wearing was ‘all haraam haraam haraam’.. but only to find out she would do everything she told me not to! How contradicting! Who wouldn’t get upset…? and years later, I still face this problem…

I accept advice from anyone even if that person is the worst sinner on this face of the earth but on one condition: That person doesn’t commit that exact same sin that he/she is trying to correct another.

Fair enough, aye?

Leave a Reply

