Jumaah #4

Assalama alaikoum wa Rahmatullaahi wa Barakaatuh πŸ™‚

Sorry for being a day late :/ I try my best to share something each Friday for all of us to reflect and benefit insha Allah. It may be something you already know so insha Allah take it as a reminder πŸ™‚

I was browsing through Kalamullah for a good lecture to listen and after much consideration (hey, it’s a tough decision to make since most lectures have interesting tittles!), I chose lecture by Sheikh Abdul Bary Yahya tittled “Istikharah – Divine Compass”. And why this lecture.. it will be made known at the end of this post insha Allah πŸ™‚

A few lessons learnt from this lecture (I’m directly quoting from the Sheikh in case my summary does no do justice to his lecture)

  1. If there ever was a GPS system in your life, it would be Salaatul Istikharah. Because Saalatul istikharah is divine guidance from Allah Subhanahu wa ta’ala
  2. If you put your trust in Allah Swt, and trust Him for guidance, if you are sincere in that aspect, then insha Allah you have a great tool. Imagine every decision that you make insha Allah will always be the best for you.
  3. How many decisions have we made in the past that we now regret? Just think about the decisions we have made, we actually have regretted doing or following. Now think, if we pray istikharah when we made those decisions, we will never regret because there will be divine guidance from Allah Swt and He will guide us to that is most appropriate and that which is best.
  4. Some scholars have mentioned that “A person will never regret if he prays Istikharah and he consults with the people”… You can ask for advice and pray Istikharah (or vice versa) and then insha Allah, you should just go for it.
  5. Majority of the scholars of the opinion that you don’t pray (istikharah) in the times where it is forbidden (i.e. after Asr or after Fajr prayers)
  6. How many times should you pray it? Some scholars have said just pray once. Pray and then make your decision according to what you think that is best for you in this life and Hereafter. Even if you make the wrong decision, Allah Swt will guide you to the right one. [Example given is that, if a brother wants to marry a girl and he prayed Istikharah and then proceeded with his decision. If the decision is bad for his Deen, something will happen that will take her away from him]
  7. Make your decision once you have put your trust in Allah swt. If you have not consulted with people yet, then consult with them. Maybe you might have made a decision to do such-and-such but after making it, the brother/sister changed your mind. That consultation is part of Istikharah.
  8. There are times we are not able to pray Istikharah. For women, she might be in her menses she can’t pray. If the decision can wait, then she waits till she prays Istikharah. If she has to make the decision immediately, and no time to decide, then just make a dua. Say Istikharah without the prayer.
  9. After making dua Istikharah, you must have the certainty or yaqeen that Allah Swt will guide you to which is best for you. That is part of eemaan.
  10. Another misconception about Istikarah is that you have to see a dream or pray three times or four times. And if you don’t see a dream, then don’t do it.
  11. Imam Nawawi mentioned that you pray Istikharah, be sincere and then pick a decision that would be best for you in this life and Hereafter. Sometimes, you will be inclined to making certain decisions and after praying Istikharah, you see the opposite.
  12. When we pray the Istikharah prayer, you need to have the intention before the prayer.
  13. Praying Istikharah also helps you in your eemaan and belief in Allah swt

Masha Allah, it is a very useful lecture indeed! I’ve had a lot of misconceptions about Salatul Istikharah cleared al-hamdulillah πŸ™‚

The reason why I chose this lecture is because I have that strong inclination to start wearing niqaab now. I have been delaying this for almost two years actually. Ever since I became convinced that the niqaab being a Sunnah and tried on for the first time two Ramadhans ago, I thought of taking the plunge and just start wearing for good. [At the moment, I wear it on-off but do not like the idea of doing so.]

I kept deciding otherwise as it was possible that my parents would reject it. The opinion of some scholars is that if niqaab is a Sunnah for you, but your parents are against it, then it is fardh upon you to listen to your parents first then doing the Sunnah.

The Sheikh kept mentioning that we only have to pray Salatul Istikharah once, put your trust in Him and then make your decision. I can’t imagine actually wearing niqaab now and then parents saying no to it later.

I have actually spoken to them about this and I’m getting a 50/50 answer. My mom especially seems excited about it because well, she keeps telling people about me having niqaabs lol. She had even helped me pick up the niqaabs that I purchased online. My dad remain reticent about this. He said to me before, that niqaab is not necessary but later when he saw me in niqaab at Masjidil Haram, he smiled and said “Masha Allah” lol.

However, despite that, there is no clear cut yes or no from either of them. From personal experience, my parents could possibly change their mind if I were to face hardships in life. And the last thing that I want, is to then remove niqaab especially if I had been wearing it for awhile.

Maybe I’m worrying too much :/ Like the Sheikh said, we should consult in the believers, and really.. here I am asking for your opinion insha Allah. I have asked my Sisters back in Sgp and they have always supported me in this al-hamdulillah…

JazakAllah Khayr πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Jumaah #4

  1. Salam..

    Not sure if you’ve read this before.. islamicarticles.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/why-i-wore-hijab-then-niqab/

    and for me, personally, I’m in favour of this form of opinion..

    drmaza.com/home/?p=68

    In some parts of the world where wearing the niqab is a norm in society, then not wearing it would make one stick out like a sore thumb and draw unwanted public attention where it would definitely attract men’s roving eyes.

    However in places other than that, like the US, UK, Singapore, Malaysia etc.. it would be the other way round I feel.

    As you may already have found out through your own research, wearing the niqab is a matter of ‘ikhtilaaf'(differing opinions with no consensus reached) among the scholars.

    The majority of scholars are of the opinion that the niqab is not obligatory while a minority opined it is obligatory.

    Those who wear the niqab, hold on to the opinions of the minority and it’s their right to do so. It’s between them and Allah.

    The important thing is to be sure and firm with one’s choice after the whole process of deliberating and researching upon the various opinions and asking different knowledgable personalities or scholars before making a conclusion which to follow.

    Not to wear it, just because of blindly following a trend for example.

    May Allah guide you through this ordeal.

    Allah Almighty knows best.

    • Wa alaik salam wa Rahmatullaah!

      I checked them out and reckon I’ve read it before but it’s always good to revisit these articles again al-hamdulillah!

      I started researching about niqaab not because I had any intention to wear it but in fact was curious as to why some women chose to do this. Initially, my opinion (or rather lack of knowledge) was that niqaab originated from the Arab culture.

      However, it was the compelling evidences in Ahadeeth given by scholars made me decide on wearing it. How is it that the Wives of Prophets and Sahabiyaat wore the niqaab and yet we choose to emulate other than them! Subhan Allah..

      That’s true Brother Redtide.. I live in a Western country and would definitely stand out in public. However, I have seen a couple of Sisters in niqaab, masha Allah, studying in my University.

      JazakAllah khayr for the links and much-needed advice! Still have yet to make this tough decision.. Allahu Mustaan..

  2. Masha Allah! Great post! πŸ™‚

    Istikhara, the Divine Compass! I like that! πŸ™‚ I didn’t know you only have to pray Istikhara once :O I prayed lots of times while I was trying to make my decision. Oh well, there’s no harm in it I suppose. But I’ll remember this in future πŸ™‚

    Lol, very true about the dream thing. I also once read a fatwa where the Sheikh was saying that a lot of people expect some sort of Divine revelation to come in the form of dreams after making Istikhara. You may see a dream if Allah wills it, but one thing you have to remember is that Allah’s signs are subtle and they don’t come crashing down on you! For the most part, it’s just a firming of feelings in a particular direction πŸ™‚

    I will make du’aa for you sis, that Allah subhanahu wa ta’aala help you come to a decision soon. When you make Istikhara and seek the counsel of the believers, then there really is no way that Allah subhanahu wa ta’aala is going to fail you πŸ™‚

    This might encourage you a bit. Remember how apprehensive I was of whether my extended family/my cousins will accept my decision to wear niqab? Al-hamdulillahi they haven’t said a word against it! I was chickening out on facing them and Mom was the one who broke the news. But they have been really sweet and no one even asked me why!

    See, Allah subhaanahu wa ta’aala knew how much I fretted over the whole thing, so He’s smoothed everything over without even a ripple! πŸ™‚

    So sis, don’t worry about it too much. Keep making du’aa with absolute trust, and pretty soon Allah subhanahu wa ta’aala’s help will come, one way or another! *hugs*

    • Masha Allah yes sis πŸ™‚ I love the tittle itself! Me tooooo! I thought we had to pray as many times until we come to a decision.. Subhan Allah..

      Definitely agree with everything you mentioned! The dreams part is probably the biggest misconception! It is like ingrained in us that if you don’t see a dream then don’t go forward with the particular decision. Or get some kind of signs.. actually, Allah made this salaah easy for us but people added extra things like dreams and made it sound so difficult lol..Anyway, if you have time, watch this lecture πŸ™‚ I merely extracted main points of it and pasted them here hehe πŸ™‚

      Al-hamdulillah!!! Allah made it easier for you than you initially expected :)Subhan Allah! I think it’s usually the case right.. we worry so much about doing something but turns out it was easy after all. Are these your relatives from Maldives that you told me about who might find it difficult to accept this decision? Man, can I tell how envious I am πŸ˜› lol.. I feel like giving my parents a call now and say, “Hey Mom and dad, good news.. I think I’ll start wearing niqaab tmrw!” Lol!

      Jazakillah khayr dear ukhti!! I really needed the reminders *hugssss* Each time I come across a niqaabi sister in school or city, I keep telling myself, “Look! She can do it, why can’t you!” 😦 Actually, I have decided to give myself a few months like you did.. Insha Allah :)Allah knows best if this is the best time for me.. Aameen to your duas sis <3<3<3

Leave a Reply

