If you’re wondering who Umm Khaleel is…

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh,

[If you dislike narcissistic entries, then please don’t read this!]

Last night, I was supposed to be diligently studying for my coming mid terms, when I ended up taking this Personality test hehe. I’ve always wondered why at times, I’m being misunderstood even when I mean no harm. Really! I guess I figured out why now 🙂

Healers present a calm and serene face to the world, and can seem shy, even distant around others. But inside they’re anything but serene, having a capacity for personal caring rarely found in the other types. Healers care deeply about the inner life of a few special persons, or about a favorite cause in the world at large. And their great passion is to heal the conflicts that trouble individuals, or that divide groups, and thus to bring wholeness, or health, to themselves, their loved ones, and their community.

Healers have a profound sense of idealism that comes from a strong personal sense of right and wrong. They conceive of the world as an ethical, honorable place, full of wondrous possibilities and potential goods. In fact, to understand Healers, we must understand that their deep commitment to the positive and the good is almost boundless and selfless, inspiring them to make extraordinary sacrifices for someone or something they believe in. Set off from the rest of humanity by their privacy and scarcity, Healers can often feel even more isolated in the purity of their idealism.

Also, Healers might well feel a sense of separation because of their often misunderstood childhood. Healers live a fantasy-filled childhood-they are the prince or princess of fairy tales-an attitude which, sadly, is frowned upon, or even punished, by many parents. With parents who want them to get their head out of the clouds, Healers begin to believe they are bad to be so fanciful, so dreamy, and can come to see themselves as ugly ducklings. In truth, they are quite OK just as they are, only different from most others-swans reared in a family of ducks.

At work, Healers are adaptable, welcome new ideas and new information, are patient with complicated situations, but impatient with routine details. Healers are keenly aware of people and their feelings, and relate well with most others. Because of their deep-seated reserve, however, they can work quite happily alone. When making decisions, Healers follow their heart not their head, which means they can make errors of fact, but seldom of feeling. They have a natural interest in scholarly activities and demonstrate, like the other Idealists, a remarkable facility with language. They have a gift for interpreting stories, as well as for creating them, and thus often write in lyric, poetic fashion. Frequently they hear a call to go forth into the world and help others, a call they seem ready to answer, even if they must sacrifice their own comfort.

Haha, healer? It’s actually very accurate because I can relate to almost everything being said here. [Yes, even the part where it says I’m a dreamer and that I live in my own fantasy-filled world lol]. Healers make up about 4-6% of the world’s population so.. I guess I’m not entirely surprised that those with conflicting personality find it difficult to fathom me. It is just my inherent nature to behave in a certain way and can’t exactly be helped..

Here are  a few (strange) facts about me:

  • I don’t hurt animals even if it means they have the ability to harm me. There was once I discovered a venomous spider sitting just outside my window and I couldn’t bear to kill it. I think I drove the sister who lived with me, insane because I made excuses that it is haraam to kill spiders especially and that even after spending days reading fatwas which permit us to kill them, I let the spider roam happily outside my window.
  • My cat prefers snuggling on my bed than the sofa so sometimes I end up sleeping on the floor in case I wake her up. And she is not a ‘pet’, she’s my little sister 🙂
  • I used to sit by the river after Fajr prayers and have my breakfast whilst I contemplate on life, immerse myself in deep thoughts at the same time enjoy the beautiful sunrise. alone. (well, cause there’s no one to go with me :()
  • If it’s possible, I’d stay away from conflicts as much as possible although it’s integral part of life. I rather be a mediator but if I’m involved in that conflict, I might just dig a hole and disappear (hmm.. I need to work on this).

  • Last thing before I bore you guys to death – I can be at the lecture hall listening attentively when I can think of strangest situations. Like for example, I wondered what would happen if there was a terrorist attack in my Economics lecture. Would the students immediately blame me for it since I’m the only Muslim there? And if someone died in this made up scenerio, I might actually cry. [Ok, just sharing my thoughts lol]

Since I have revealed my personality to all of you – share yours! Make me feel like I’m not that crazy after all lol! 🙂 Also, if you find my previous posts slightly questionable or very sensitive, then you know why now 🙂

22 thoughts on “If you’re wondering who Umm Khaleel is…

      • Awww, you have such a sweet personality type! Lol, don’t worry, I’m plenty weird even if the personality test says I’m quite common! 😛

        Eewww! Spiders!! I have the biggest phobia about all creepy crawlies! The minute I see one, I dash for the spray! Mom says its a fear I inherited from Dad coz he was terrified of cockroaches and whenever Dad and I saw a cockroach, we’d both run around (me shrieking of course) and Dad would try to kill it by standing two miles away from it! 😛

        Hehehe, your train of thought goes in the weirdest way huh? I daydream during lectures, and once I spent a whole three hours happily immersed in a fantasy where the US attacked Maldives while I was at school and people were dying left right and center! I don’t think I heard a word my teacher said! 😛

      • Lol me too sis, spiders, cockroaches give me the goosebumps.. haha @ your dad! Oh dear… who does the exterminating then? I’m guessing your mum? 🙂 You know at my old house, the ‘daddy long legs’ spider had babies .. like so many of it! Freaked-me-out!!! Omg, it’s so gross!

        Hahahahaha at your fantasy! Omg, we are so similar.. hey, you managed to see that last part before I edited eh? hehe.. I was thinking oh gosh, I’m telling people again that I’m nuts lol! Hey, since we’re on the same page, you’d understand me for these weird fantasy world I live in 😛 But I just have a feeling you don’t do it as often as me 🙂

  1. Hey, that’s not very weird at all. I’m not surprised that you would be considered a ‘healer’ in terms of caring for others. It sounds like a very admirable personality- but I think it’s important that you care for yourself, as well. Like do not sacrifice too much. I know one woman who sacrifices things in a way that just isn’t right, you know what I’m saying.

    That’s so cute of your kitty being your sis. Is it a good time to admit that I’m scared of kitties?

    I lurve personality tests myself…I just might take it 🙂

    • Thanks for the reminder sis 🙂 Will remember that insha Allah!

      Lol yea I think I remember reading that you’re scared of kittens.Why! They are so adorable that I just want to squeeze them!

      • Lol, join the club Lil Auntie! I’m a teensy weensy bit scared of kitties myself! And all animals for that matter! I don’t want to be, but I always wonder what they’re thinking when they’re looking at me! (yes, I know! I’m a little crazy!)

        I think cats are adorable, but the most I can do is a couple of pats and if it snuggles up to me, I hop away! Once a friend of mine stayed at my place with her cat and I followed it around all the time, but whenever it would come near me, I’d get all nervous! 😛

  2. Counselors have an exceptionally strong desire to contribute to the welfare of others, and find great personal fulfillment interacting with people, nurturing their personal development, guiding them to realize their human potential. Although they are happy working at jobs (such as writing) that require solitude and close attention, Counselors do quite well with individuals or groups of people, provided that the personal interactions are not superficial, and that they find some quiet, private time every now and then to recharge their batteries. Counselors are both kind and positive in their handling of others; they are great listeners and seem naturally interested in helping people with their personal problems. Not usually visible leaders, Counselors prefer to work intensely with those close to them, especially on a one-to-one basis, quietly exerting their influence behind the scenes.

    Counselors are scarce, little more than three percent of the population, and can be hard to get to know, since they tend not to share their innermost thoughts or their powerful emotional reactions except with their loved ones. They are highly private people, with an unusually rich, complicated inner life. Friends or colleagues who have known them for years may find sides emerging which come as a surprise. Not that Counselors are flighty or scattered; they value their integrity a great deal, but they have mysterious, intricately woven personalities which sometimes puzzle even them.

      • Ditto for what Asha said. I think it’s a pretty accurate description of you, isn’t it? Your “fix-it” thing I mean 🙂

        And you really are kind and positive when you handle others! 🙂

      • But Sis Xahu, there’s 3 of them! Who’s who 😛 But anyway, I’m pretty sure all 3 are awesome sisters! The rarest personality of all! 😀

  3. Lol! No poking Asha! Wait no more, I is the here! 😛 Ok, so here’s mine:

    We are lucky that Protectors make up as much as ten percent the population, because their primary interest is in the safety and security of those they care about – their family, their circle of friends, their students, their patients, their boss, their fellow-workers, or their employees. Protectors have an extraordinary sense of loyalty and responsibility in their makeup, and seem fulfilled in the degree they can shield others from the dirt and dangers of the world. Speculating and experimenting do not intrigue Protectors, who prefer to make do with time-honored and time-tested products and procedures rather than change to new. At work Protectors are seldom happy in situations where the rules are constantly changing, or where long-established ways of doing things are not respected. For their part, Protectors value tradition, both in the culture and in their family. Protectors believe deeply in the stability of social ranking conferred by birth, titles, offices, and credentials. And they cherish family history and enjoy caring for family property, from houses to heirlooms.

    Wanting to be of service to others, Protectors find great satisfaction in assisting the downtrodden, and can deal with disability and neediness in others better than any other type. They are not as outgoing and talkative as the Provider Guardians [ESFJs], and their shyness is often misjudged as stiffness, even coldness, when in truth Protectors are warm-hearted and sympathetic, giving happily of themselves to those in need.

    Their reserve ought really to be seen as an expression of their sincerity and seriousness of purpose. The most diligent of all the types, Protectors are willing to work long, hard hours quietly doing all the thankless jobs that others manage to avoid. Protectors are quite happy working alone; in fact, in positions of authority they may try to do everything themselves rather than direct others to get the job done. Thoroughness and frugality are also virtues for them. When Protectors undertake a task, they will complete it if humanly possible. They also know better than any other type the value of a dollar, and they abhor the squandering or misuse of money. To save, to put something aside against an unpredictable future, to prepare for emergencies-these are actions near and dear to the Protector’s heart. For all these reasons, Protectors are frequently overworked, just as they are frequently misunderstood and undervalued. Their contributions, and also their economies, are often taken for granted, and they rarely get the gratitude they deserve.

    Lol, right on the spot with the loyalty and doing everything by myself! Sometimes my weird sense of loyalty gets me in trouble too! And I always say that if you want to get something done right, you have to do it yourself! So I’m hopeless at delegating! 😛

    • Wow, can I tell you how surprised to read your personality result 🙂 Gee, can you be my friend? :)[Hehe, I’m asking both of you of course! :)] You’d be there to protect me when someone bullies me! lol..

      Anyway sis, you can read more about your personality in detail here: http://www.personalitypage.com/html/ISFJ_rel.html (I think you’re ISFJ}

      Thanks for sharing about yourself 🙂 Glad to know my sisters better now!

  4. mine’s INFJ! THE COUNSELOR.

    Take note:
    +Writing, counseling, public service and even politics are areas where INFJs frequently find their niche. Hehee.
    +INFJs are deeply concerned about their relations with individuals as well as the state of humanity at large. 😀

    i especially like the explanation here:http://typelogic.com/infj.html

    ((: ❤

  5. Your Type is
    INFP

    I guess im a Healer too! Nice to meet a sister Healer!! lol

    ‘INFPs never seem to lose their sense of wonder. One might say they see life through rose-colored glasses. It’s as though they live at the edge of a looking-glass world where mundane objects come to life, where flora and fauna take on near-human qualities.

    INFP children often exhibit this in a ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ fashion, switching from reality to fantasy and back again. With few exceptions, it is the NF child who readily develops imaginary playmates (as with Anne of Green Gables’s “bookcase girlfriend”–her own reflection) and whose stuffed animals come to life…
    INFPs have the ability to see good in almost anyone or anything. Even for the most unlovable the INFP is wont to have pity. Their extreme depth of feeling is often hidden, even from themselves, until circumstances evoke an impassioned response: Of course, not all of life is rosy, and INFPs are not exempt from the same disappointments and frustrations common to humanity. As INTPs tend to have a sense of failed competence, INFPs struggle with the issue of their own ethical perfection, e.g., perfo rmance of duty for the greater cause. An INFP friend describes the inner conflict as not good versus bad, but on a grand scale, Good vs. Evil. Luke Skywalker in Star Wars depicts this conflict in his struggle between the two sides of “The Force.” Although the dark side must be reckoned with, the INFP believes that good ultimately triumphs.’

    This is all pretty true to my personality, lol, when i was 10 years old i had an imaginary friend whose name i cant remember now, and i absolutely LOVE nature, so much so that ive taken up nature photography, and i once read an article about scientists that have proven that plants can cry(backed up islamically by that tree that cried during one of Prophet Muhammads talks…) , after that i was scared to break a twig off a tree or break a flower stem, nowadays i still cringe when i have too step on little flowers or bits of ground where hidden bugs can be, eventhough im really scared of creepy crawlies!!

    xx

    • Yay another INFP! 🙂 At least I know now that I’m not alone… 😛

      Oh no, why do you have to tell me about plants! 😦 I think I might avoid walking on grasses altogether now.. I don’t want to hear them cry :/ lol.. but you know it does make sense..like how some people say that if you talk to your plants regularly and treat them with love, they tend to respond to this and bear fruits.. Allahu alam.. Well, I don’t want to be reading this up in case I might end up talking to plants now lol. Like talking to animals isn’t weird enough 😛 That must be difficult for you sis helping your mom out cutting flowers! How do you manage that?

      So sis, like most INFPs, we struggle to fight for a greater cause.. what’s yours? 🙂 Mine is basically world peace, especially peace in Palestine. I wish I have the opportunity to fight for them and maybe improve their situation. A little vague but this has got to be one of the things I hope to achieve some day.

      Anyway sis, this is a more comprehensive review of INFP: http://www.personalitypage.com/INFP_rel.html
      Also, I came across a forum (http://personalitycafe.com/infp-forum-idealists/) about INFPs and I could relate to almost everything being said there 😛

  6. I should point out that my mum is a florist as well, so cutting plants is a must when i help her, that really doesnt help with trying not to hurt plants!! 😛

Leave a Reply

