Trip to the local market :)

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaahi wa Barakaatuh πŸ˜€

When a sister came to visit down under a couple of weeks ago, we went to a local market to buy marrons. If you’re wondering what marrons are – they belong to the ‘Crustacean’ family along with crabs and lobsters. One unique feature about marrons is their fusion of crab, lobster, crayfish and bugs all in one! It has the body similar to crayfish,crab and prawn but tastes like lobster. And you can only find them in the area I live in πŸ™‚

Fresh marrons swimming in the bag!

We bought a few of these fresh from the aquarium! The lady simply stuck her hand into the water and grabbed these little buddies out of the water – without any gloves on!

Anyway, I had a little ‘mishap’ when we were at the fish and chips restaurant. I left the bag unattended whilst I was busy playing with my phone when the bag of marrons tilted. Immediately, I grabbed hold of it but to my surprise, two marrons crawled out onto the table.

I shrieked. The sister was in the washroom then and no one was there to help me! I ran over whilst the marrons were still crawling, dropped to the ground and crawled even more! I didn’t dare touch them in case I get pinched. A man walked over, picked them up and simply put them back whilst I stood there horrified. Lol..

We had to keep these marrons in the freezer for approximately 45 mins to 'sedate' them before cooking. When we removed an hour later, they were still alive! I thought if they didn't die, I would keep them as pets instead πŸ˜›

The sisters let me decide how to cook these marrons since I was so excited about it heh. Boiled them in herb water for about 5 minutes or till it turns red. This way you kill them instantly and at the same time, it leaves that herby taste.

Cut them up into halves and smear garlic butter with a tinge of salt, chilli flakes and then grill them on high heat for a few minutes. We overcooked the marrons because the grill was not hot enough so the meat was slightly dry.

Ta da!

I hope to get another batch of marrons soon! πŸ™‚ They are just $5 each!

Look what we found at the market too! Anyone wants to make a guess how do you break an ostrich egg πŸ™‚ And that one ostrich egg is equivalent to how many chicken eggs πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Trip to the local market :)

  1. Lol, you and your marrons again!!

    Sigh, I’ve never been a fan of seafood. The first time I had prawns, I spent the entire meal fighting down bile! πŸ˜›

    Fish is my love though, (since we’re surrounded by the sea and it’s our primary food :P), and also only tuna at that!

    Lol at your little mishap with the runaway marrons! I would have jumped up on the table or run out of the place altogether! Brave you for standing there πŸ˜›

    OMG at the ostrich eggs! They look huge!! How big are they? I’m guessing the size of a watermelon? Uh…. do you have to put the egg in a giant pot and then break it?

    • Hahaha! I love my marrons ok :)) How can you not like seafood!! aww man, I can live on just seafood if I had to! πŸ˜› Btw, what kind of fish do you get in your market? Is fish your staple food?

      Haha I can’t possibly run away when I was already salivating at the thought of supper that night! πŸ˜›

      The ostrich eggs are smaller than a bowling ball.. maybe the size of small coconut.. but it’s very heavy! Lol, to break the egg.. you have to use a hammer and nail/drill! lol can you imagine how thick the shell is! And you know, one ostrich egg is equivalent to 2 dozen chicken eggs! The egg yolk is just one big yello lump which looks very gross :/

Leave a Reply

