Upcoming lectures

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh ๐Ÿ™‚

Masha Allah in the next coming weeks, 4 overseas speakers will be coming down under ๐Ÿ™‚ There were other Sheikhs like Sh. Navaid Aziz and Sh. Tawfique Chaudry but they remained in Melbourne for the MercyMission Convention. Abu Taubah’s visa was not granted so he couldn’t come.. what a pity!

1st May: Sh. Hussain Yee (studied under Sh. Albaani) & Sh. Aslam (studied under Sh. Ibn Uthaimeen)

7th May: Brother Omar Regan (Chris Tucker’s double) tittled “Hollywood to Brotherhood” [bringing my parents to this comedy show.. I think they will enjoy it insha Allah :)]

17th May: Imam Abu Hafsa Jerome Clare (The Blind Revert Imam)

We’ve been quite ย fortunate to have speakers from various parts of the world coming down to this state especially since it’s often described to be a ‘retirement village’, ranking 3rd in the list of “Most boring cities in Australia” lol (really, there’s nothing much to do here!). Qari Saad Nomani (he can imitate 83+ different Qaris) had been here twice – bi yearly visit – and then last November Napolean Mutah Beale visited. We came an hour before the talk began but were not allowed to enter since people had been queuing way before that! Not going to take my chances this time round!

5 thoughts on “Upcoming lectures

  1. OMG!!! Can I say that I’m totally and completely jealous?? ๐Ÿ˜›

    How I wish I can get myself to attend some Islamic lecture! There are no English lectures here in stupid Sri Lanka, everything’s in Tamil because the majority of Muslims here speak Tamil! And of course, I’m hopeless in that language!

    Lol, I think I should go home to Maldives because I hear the salafi NGO holds regular dharus sessions! And of course, I’m all jealous about that too! ๐Ÿ˜›

    But I’ve promised myself that the next time I go home, I’m definitely sneaking into one or two lectures! I just hope it’s an interesting topic! I’d hate to attend all excited only to have the Sheikh talk about trade or some other such topic! ๐Ÿ˜›

    You have to tell me all about the lectures you’ll be attending! Especially if a really interesting topic comes up! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha al-hamdulillah sis ๐Ÿ™‚ I have never expected anyone to take interest in the state I live in…

      Hehe oh dear.. totally no English lectures at all? So do you rely on the online lectures then..? Don’t worry sis, insha Allah when you’re back you’ll be spoilt for choice ๐Ÿ˜€ We have Salafi lectures too in Sgp but course, the term ‘Salafi’ is rarely used because people immediately think you’re a wahabbi lol.. So many sufis in Sgp!

      Lol.. the Sheikh talks about trade? Is it Fiqh lectures? We rarely have contemporary issues being discussed in Sgp too maybe because it’s controversial.. censorship plays such an important role in Sgp that even khutbahs are written by the government! But sis, at least it’s something even if it’s about trade ๐Ÿ™‚ I used to attend a Saturday class which covers so many aspects of fiqh – and most of which I thought it wouldn’t be important to learn!

      Insha Allah sis!! I’m very excited.. and oh, Habib Umar is coming down too.. should I go? :p

  2. I’m totally jealous too.

    *Sigh*

    I’m there, with you in spirit, hehe…

    Inshaallah you’ll learn lots and have a GREAT imaan boosting time.

    Incidentally, I only just heard of Abu Tauwbah last WEEK. He did a great khutbah on ‘who is your allegiance to’. Did you see it? It was my first khutbah of his to watch and needless to say I was very shocked at first at what he was wearing and then when I understood….it was just awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Aw sis, I’m sure you have better lectures there in KSA ๐Ÿ™‚ We only have these guest speakers once in probably 6-7 months :/ Yesterday’s lecture was good al-hamdulillah.. I thought I felt your presence there LOL ๐Ÿ˜›

      Oooh, guess I’ll check that out then! I have not seen the video yet.. Jazakillah khayr for sharing this with me ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

