Assalam Alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh!

Pictures taken on Monday πŸ™‚

Bro Boonaa

Sheikh Navaid Aziz

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Baba Ali

 

 

 

 

I bought Boonaa's cd πŸ˜€

“A refreshing look at the relationship of Muslims with themselves, their Lord, and the larger community. An approximately 3 hour performance which works to help foster and develop a better understanding of building strong Muslims, families, and a united Ummah”

The event was epic al-Hamdulillah.. surprisingly though, there were still available seats that night. Β It was broken down to three parts – so Bro Boonaa started off with his poetry, followed by Sh. Navaid Aziz and then Baba Ali. All three of them are such amazing speakers masha’Allah! I bought Bro Boonaa’s cd although to be honest, I’ve never had the slightest interest in poetry. But somehow I am hooked to his!

One of the reminders which I feel is especially useful was from Sheikh Navaid Aziz. He said that whenever he is afflicted with trials, he would remind himself of his version Jannah. That might sound peculiar since Allah has already described Jannah in the Qur’an but according to him, when you are in Jannah, anything that is impossible in this Dunya will be feasible there. So he said, be creative when you think of Jannah. Spend some time imagining the things you like and wish you could do in this Dunya and then try to picture doing it in Jannah. His version was that of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and how it would be possible to go fishing in a chocolate river with chocolate fishes at the end of his bait, being able to swim in chocolate and eat them at the same time. Lol!

I went home that night and give some thought on the things I would like to do in Paradise. I remember there was a particular verse which made me smile whilst reading the Qur’an:

β€œTill, when they came to the valley of the ants, one of the ants said: “O ants! Enter your dwellings, lest Sulaiman (Solomon) and his hosts crush you, while they perceive not.” So he [Sulaiman (Solomon)] smiled, amused at her speech and said: “My Lord! Inspire and bestow upon me the power and ability that I may be grateful for Your Favours which You have bestowed on me and on my parents, and that I may do righteous good deeds that will please You, and admit me by Your Mercy among Your righteous slaves.” [27:18-19]

You’d have figured out from both ayaah that I would love if I could understand the speech of animals like Prophet Sulaiman alayhi salam πŸ™‚ (Love the dua as well subhan’Allah!). How amazing would it be to able to interact with animals?! πŸ™‚ And just to add, the ocean really fascinates me but the thought of sharks biting my limbs off gave me second thoughts about diving. So in my wildest imagination, I would love to be able to dive freely without having to worry about predators or lack of oxygen. Haha πŸ™‚

What would like to do in Jannah? What’s your version of it? Please share πŸ™‚

 

 

5 thoughts on “

  1. Lucky girl! ma’shaAllah πŸ™‚ I wish I could have attended πŸ˜€

    inshaAllah you will be able to talk to the animals and dive in the oceans πŸ™‚ I used to really want to go flying on clouds…like I can’t even describe it but something I used to think I would want to do in jannah πŸ˜‰

    The chocolate factory is also a good idea πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh masha Allah! It must have been wonderful to attend and listen to these amazing speakers! Once Bilal Phillips and Zakir Naik came to Maldives, but unfortunately I was here and I still haven’t gotten over the tragedy of missing it!! 😦

    Lol! I have the exact same fear of sharks biting off my legs! Considering I come from an island country, it’s silly, but every time I think of jumping into the deep blue, I have this irrational fear of something coming from below and chomping! πŸ˜›

    Hmmm, my version of Jannah? It’s funny, but I’ve never really thought about what I’d like to do there. Of course when I listen to lectures about the descriptions of Jannah, I do picture myself in there and doing those things, but I’ve never had a particular desire like you guys. I really should change the direction of my fantasies huh? πŸ˜›

    But I do have a funny coping mechanism somewhat similar to what Sheikh Navaid Aziz said. Whenever I’m afflicted with any wrong or injustice caused by people, I immediately launch into a fantasy of the Judgement Day when that particular person would get his just rewards. It makes me feel SO much better to know that Allah subhanahu wa ta’aala is going to right even the tiniest of faults and it cheers me up! My mantra is “my day will come!” πŸ˜›

    • Yes al-Hamdulillah we had the opportunity to attend the lecture. And same for me too, Bilal Philips was in Sgp when I was here so I missed his visit as well 😦 Zakir Naik wanted to come to sgp as well but his visa was rejected at the very last minute.. typical of my country -.- Don’t worry, in the future they might actually come visit again insha’Allah πŸ˜‰

      Can I tell you how beautiful Maldives is!! So gorgeous masha’Allah.. my sis posted the pics when she went to Maldives on facebook and I just couldn’t believe my eyes! you lucky girl πŸ˜€ I think my irrational fear of sharks could be due to watching too many movies/documentaries about sharks lol. But I don’t think it’s irrational since there had been cases of people being eaten alive 😦

      Haha I don’t think it’s necessary to set this image of an ‘Ideal Jannah’ since Allah has already described it for us how Jannah would be like. That, itself is unimaginable and would be more than sufficient for us I’m sure. These descriptions are just ‘add-on’s πŸ™‚

      Lol sis I feel the same way too actually. Sometimes, when we deal with someone who has more power over us and they are unjust, it’s comforting to know that the Day of Recompense will come and everyone will be awarded for what they strove for. But, do you think that to some extent, having these thoughts would mean that we keep a grudge on them? I read somewhere that we should pray that Allah guide them and that they will change their ways instead of harboring the thought of them getting punished for those sins? Well.. just a thought heh πŸ™‚

      • Ohmigod! I never thought of it that way! Do you think thoughts like that would be considered grudges? I guess in some way, they are right? I mean, we do hope they get punished because they wronged us.

        I think it’s human of us to feel resentment to some extent, though it would be better for us to strive against these negative feelings. But as long as our thoughts are just momentary and doesn’t turn into deep-seated and persistent rancor, I think it’s ok. As you said, it’s comforting and isn’t it part of faith to trust Allah to right the wrongs? I don’t know, am I trying to justify myself? Allah knows best.

        Sometimes I wonder how the Prophet (sallalaahu alayhi wasallam) did it, the whole no resentment thing. It must have taken incredible patience and big-heartedness to not even have a mere flicker of such thoughts. Remember the story of the woman who threw garbage in his path? It always makes me feel a bit ashamed coz if it had been me, I would have been dancing and hoping that she had died some horrible death and I was free of her! *shame*

        In other news, thank you for that lovely compliment about Maldives. Lol, yeah, masha Allah the islands are quite beautiful. Did your sister stay at a resort? It’s actually the resorts that are super-glamorous and beautiful, the normal islands are…. well…. “normal”! Hehehe, at least I think so πŸ˜› Since I’m from the capital where it’s all citified, I sometimes wish I could live on one of the islands. I love the tranquil beauty of them πŸ™‚

        You should come see it one of these days insha Allah! πŸ™‚ And most definitely come see me too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

