Jumaah #18

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh,

If you find that reading historical events such as ‘The Crusades’ a snooze fest, then perhaps this documentary will aid in your understanding. It’s almost 3 hours long but at least with its reenactments of the event, it doesn’t feel like that much time have gone by. I’m still watching the initial phase of the Crusades on how it all began. This documentary is unbiased in its recount so I would recommend watching this.

But if you can find this audio cd at your Islamic Bookstore, then you should get it insha’Allah. I bought this recently πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Jumaah #18

  1. Oooh, the Crusades! I read a lot of historical romance novels and shamefully my knowledge of it comes from these books! πŸ˜› But then again, books are really quite informative.

    I think once I got really curious about it and looked it up, but I can’t recall much of it now, lol! I have a thing for history, so I’ll definitely watch this insha Allah! πŸ™‚

    • Ohh sis, I have almost close to zero knowledge about the Crusades myself.. we can always start somewhere πŸ™‚ (btw, are you a hopeless romantic or something lol? I’ve always had the impression that those who read romance novels generally are such!)

      Yes, please watch this documentary! I recommend it.. let me know what you think about it then yea! πŸ™‚

      • Oh wow! i loved this! Very interesting and informative! πŸ™‚

        Subhan Allah, the massacre of thousands simply because of manipulative greed! It was so wrong of the Pope to use the faith of the common man against him and delude them into waging this war.

        And the Muslims, in some stupid way, we always have snakes in our midst who becomes the cause of our downfall. It’s as that Professor said, it is always the betrayal that brings down the castle, not a storming at the gate.

        I’m off to watch the second part now. That’s the one with Saladin in it, right? Or did he come much later? I’m very curious to learn about him πŸ™‚

        Lol, yes sis, I’m an incurable romantic! πŸ˜› When I was a little girl, my cousin used to have a huge romance novel collection and I couldn’t wait to grow up to get my hands on them (I was forbidden to read them until I was fifteen :P)

        She infected me and I haven’t been able to cure myself since then! And my best friend makes it worse! πŸ˜› Do you read them?

      • So sorry for the late reply sisss 😦

        Yesss I love this documentary! I’m glad that at least there are no sides taken – after all, documentaries should be unbiased yea? As for the Muslims, I have not reached till that part yet. During the Prophet sallallahu alayhi salam’s time, there were already hypocrites living amongst them so I’m not surprised to hear that. Oh man, I’ll try to find some time to watch till the very end! I totally forgot that this history includes Saladin πŸ™‚

        Hahaha sis, I didn’t know that about you; a hopeless romantic πŸ˜‰ How lucky is your future husband πŸ˜‰ lol.. What are some titles of ‘decent’ romance novels that you know of..? Perhaps I might get my hands on some just to see if I like this genre! I tend to read mostly non-fiction books at the moment e.g. history, other boring stuff. I used to be in love with fantasy books e.g The Golden Compass, Lord of the Rings, Dragons etc.. Hehe πŸ™‚ I live in my own world remember? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

