Update

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh πŸ™‚

I think this blog deserves Β short update.. and since I’m such a sloth, I’ll write in bullet points πŸ™‚

  • Al-Hamdulillah, finally a graduate! πŸ™‚ My graduation will be on the 14th of Sept insha’Allah. After 3 years of slogging, it all comes down to a piece of paper!
  • I’ve decided to not find a job for now since I’m applying to do Masters in Feb 2012 insha’Allah. If the application goes smoothly, then I’ll be moving to a whole different country next year πŸ˜‰ Isn’t it exciting? πŸ˜› Thinking of applying either Masters of Islamic Banking or Masters in teaching Eng as second language. The second option is slightly unorthodox I feel because most people I know rather teach in schools. I think I work best with adults plus, I get the opportunity to learn more about the different cultures and languages since I’m fascinated by them.
  • Currently, I’m extending my visa to do volunteer work at a support center for Muslim women here. Β In fact, I’ve already started working there and although I’ve been there for a short period of time, I feel like I’ve learnt a lot. The support center is mainly aimed at Muslim women who are in need of emotional and financial support. Volunteers get a lot of random tasks like helping a sister write a resume; some come in just to talk; or if they can’t find their way around the city. Apart from that as well, I get to work with so many beautiful (I don’t mean physically. and of course, not implying that they are ugly lol) sisters masha’Allah. They have such wonderful akhlaq! Have always wanted to be a part of such an organization al-Hamdulillah! πŸ™‚
  • I have a pet cat now! She actually belongs to someone else but that person decided to give her up so she had been hopping from one owner to another. The last was my brother and since he was going back for hols, I took her in. He’s back and I told him, the cat belongs to me now hehehe πŸ™‚
  • Going back a few days before Eid insha’Allah! After 4 years of being away from home, FINALLY I’ll be celebrating with them this year! I’m planning to surprise my mom and sis so only my dad and bro know I’ll be heading home. I have this mental image that I would ring the bell and my mom would open the door only to find me there! Or was thinking that I could sneak into the house and scream ‘Surprise!’Β and give everyone a heart attack.. hahaha!
  • Little Auntie asked if I’m getting engaged/married.. my answer is unfortunately no 😦 Help me find someone please lol?Β I remember the younger sisters at my hifdh class asking me the same thing then when I told them I was going to graduate. They bombarded me with all sort of questions, “So do you have anyone now sis?”, “Are you getting married soon?”, “How come you don’t have anyone?”. Haha so cute masha’Allah!
  • I’ve packed some of my things and have brought them back home since I’m left with a couple of months before I leave for good. Can’t believe that time just flew past me! I came to Australia when I have not yet turn 18 and had been living independently since. I’m so used to doing everything on my own at my own time and pace; no need to ask for permission or inform anyone.Β Now that I’m returning home, not sure how I’ll adapt to this drastic change.Β Hmm..
That’s it for now.. I have so many topics that I really want to write about but haven’t had the time to do so. Insha’Allah! By the way, Ramadhan Mubarak to all of you!! πŸ˜€ Please use your time wisely by reciting Qur’an, listening to Islamic lectures, attending Islamic classes, read the tafseer.. and the list goes on! πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Update

  1. Ooooo, what a great update πŸ™‚ Mabrook on everything!
    I’m so jealous (in a halal way, hehe) of the volunteer work you’re doing πŸ™‚ I’m sure it must be great to be in that atmosphere. May Allah reward you all πŸ˜€
    As for getting your Masters, inshaAllah, that works well. teaching English to adults is not a bad idea πŸ™‚ I actually did that last year (my major is teaching English, hehe) and I really did enjoy being with adults. This summer I’m hanging out with kids and honestly, adults were a lot easier to handle πŸ™‚ Kids are interesting but in a different way πŸ˜‰

    Oh, I gotta find myself a groom, hehe πŸ˜› LOL, let’s be on the lookout for each other? But seroiusly, what I meant though is that EVERYBODY’s gonna be asking you that now…that’s what happens when you graduate. You keep getting those 2 questions, lol.

    I think your mumzy would be so happy/ thrilled with the surprise πŸ™‚ My big sister did the same with my mom πŸ˜‰ A great surprise πŸ™‚

    • Yeah al-Hamdulillah love it there πŸ™‚ Aameen sis, May He reward you too! πŸ™‚

      Oh yeaa, just remembered that you teach English too! πŸ™‚ Haha how old are your students now? I don’t want to relive the horror of teaching kids again.. so I’m hoping to teach just teach adults. maybe it’s just those kids that I couldn’t control lol. and yea, it’s definitely easier to communicate with adults too. I really want to learn how to teach kids sis!

      Aren’t you going to ask your parents to find you a groom instead? Haha, you want to marry my bro? πŸ˜‰ hehehe.. I know what you mean sis.. just that I’m surprised to get those questions. You’re not the first one to ask definitely.. these questions had been going on ever since I entered uni..I’m a bit naive lol.. to me, after-grad questions are like “so have you applied for any jobs?”, “what position are you applying for…” so wasn’t expecting such questions. but yeah, you know I don’t need people to ask me that. my friends are all getting married, and I don’t want to be the last one or the one who is single :/ insha’Allah, we help each other yea? πŸ™‚ Start looking btw haha πŸ™‚ I hope to find one before I turn 25!

      yeahhh I hope so too! must have made your mum’s day eh πŸ™‚ I keep forgetting that I’m not supposed to mention anything about going home each time I’m on the phone w my mom but it keeps coming out lol.

  2. Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh..
    Dear sis, just drop by here, and i would say ur writing is perfect! Subhanallah. πŸ™‚
    Keep on writing sis and I already make ur blog as one of my favourite’s blog list. Well, just want to know, where is ur hometown, sis? Ramadhan Mubarak and congrats for ur graduation.

    • Wa alaik salam wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh sis,

      Al-Hamdulillah if you find the posts beneficial.. Jazakillah khayr sis for your kind words! Although I must say that I have a lot to improve on my writing heh. Not being modest, but really πŸ™‚

      I’m from Singapore.. : ) How about you? πŸ™‚ Ramadhan Kareem too! May He accept our deeds, siyam and qiyam in this month! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh wow! You’ve been a busy bee haven’t you?? πŸ™‚ Congratulations on finally becoming a graduate! A load of relief huh? Which country will you be moving to next?

    I’ve never taught adults before, I really should try it. Kids have an attention span of two seconds and you’re forever having to come up with creative ways to keep them interested! πŸ˜›

    And I agree with Lil Auntie! I’m jealous of your volunteer work! In fact, I don’t think I’m even going to say anything in case you see the envy pouring out! πŸ˜›

    Lol! The heart attack surprise is the best! I say go for it! It’s how I fantasize about going home too after being away for so long. But the blabbermouth that I am, the minute I get excited about it, I broadcast it to everyone. Hehehe, maybe that’s why my plans to go last month got all jinxed! πŸ˜›

    Aargh! Do not talk about the marriage woes! Asha, I would heartily suggest you find the groom before 25 coz it get’s worse if you delay! πŸ˜› People will literally suffocate you with the “When are you going to get married?” question!

    My mother has finally decided she’s had enough of my delaying on the matter and is determined to get me married off in the next few months!! It’s horrifying! I don’t know how girls do it! Pick the right one! The whole process is giving me the heebie jeebies! Save me!!

    • Thank you sis! Al-Hamdulillah.. at one point of time, I thought that graduating was almost impossible.. haha.. with Allah’s help, anything is possible! And yes, SO RELIEVED! Like I can’t believe it’s over.. Insha’Allah my next move is to International Islamic Uni of Malaysia for Masters.. so Malaysia, here I come!

      Aww sis, please don’t be jealous. I feel like I’m not doing anything much really as compared to the sisters working and volunteer there regularly. I’m sure if all of you had the time, you would do the same too! πŸ™‚

      Haha sis I know how it feels to just tell everyone! I’m finding it hard at this instance to control myself from telling my family! So difficult argh!! I just hope no one actually gets a heart attack though lol!

      Thanks sis for the marriage advice.. I still have about 2 years to go until people suffocate me like you were saying lol.Needless to say, I already feel it at my throat now because the sisters I’m close have plans for marriage now. It’s just me who’s left behind 😦 So, have you already decided on someone yet since it’ll be in a few months? πŸ™‚ That’s so wonderful sis! Haha, you have to tell me about him… at least share some details about how your nikaah will be like.. your dress… πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll make such a beautiful niqaabi bride πŸ˜€

    • Thank you sis πŸ™‚ Please don’t be envious.. I’m sure you too would have done the same if you have the time πŸ™‚

  4. Pssst….

    asalamu ailakuam, darlin’!
    I’m here to ask you for a favor. Lately I’ve been feeling super swamped and have completely neglected the blog. I feel like I might just close it at the rate we’re going…so many e-mails to answer and I just am not up to it. But I don’t want this ‘sisterhood’ to just ‘stop’….so…I was wondering…would you like to become an aunty? It seems like you’re busy, too…I don’t know if it’s cuz of Ramadan or that you’re just busy…let me know what you think?

    • Wa alaik salam wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh siss!

      OMG, I feel SO HONOURED that you’re asking me to be an aunty! πŸ˜€ oh no, please don’t close it sis.. if you’re swamped with work, then you can always inform us of how busy the aunties are at the moment or that the blog will be inactive for awhile due to work etc.. You know I would love to contribute to the wonderful blog, but at this moment I’m quite busy myself 😦 I could possibly be free after 2nd week of Eid (after my Graduation at least) but currently, I won’t be able to do so. Another thing as well, I’m not sure if I’m confident enough to be answering questions. If you’d like, I could possibly contribute in other ways like managing comments, blog etc..? anything else other than answering the questions for now unless I’m confident what to say 😦

  5. Asalamu ailakuam!
    You did reply! awww, jazakillah my luv! Things are a bit better now, alhamdillah. IF you ever want to be an aunty, don’t hesitate to tell me πŸ™‚

    I think the best way you help us is through your wonderful comments and support ❀ Jazakillah khair!!

    Lots of LUV!!!

Leave a Reply

