Notes from Productive Muslim Seminar # 1

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh,

For those of you who are fans of Productive Muslim *cough*youknowwhoyouare*cough*, here’s the first part of the notes I jotted down during the seminar πŸ™‚ (if there’s anything you want me to improve, let me know!)

Productivity = Focus + Energy (towards a beneficial goal)

*Towards maximizing your reward in Aakhirah

  1. Intention
  2. Action
  3. Outcome (Tawakkul)
3 Important points:
  1. Knowledge
  2. Action
  3. Consistency

Why is it important to be Productive?

  1. Path of the Messengers
  2. Key to Success
  3. Gives meaning to life
  4. Make our Prophet SAW proud

How to develop discipline?

  • Understand the Higher Purpose (to serve Allah) Β + Practice, Practice, Practice Β + Self-accountability (Two angels on our shoulders are watching us)
  • Do it especially when you have no mood for it
  • Be aware of “slipping points” (what is it that gives you the excuse to not do something? e.g. like forgetting to bring your gym clothes thus you won’t hit the gym for that day)
  • Dua, Dua and lots of it

3 Types of Productivity (for a Productive Muslim Lifestyle)

  • Spiritual productivity
  • Social Productivity
  • Physical Productivity

Spiritual Productivity

  • Barakah (attachment of Divine Goodness to a thing, so if it occurs in something little, it increases it). And if it occurs in something much it benefits. And the greatest fruits of Barakah in all things is to use that Barakah in the obedience of Allah SWT.

18 Sources of Barakah

  1. Good intentions
  2. Piety and Belief in Allah SWT
  3. Putting your trust in Allah SWT (Tawakkul)
  4. Reading Qur’an
  5. Saying ‘Bismillah’ (before starting an assignment/task)
  6. Eating with people
  7. Honesty in trade
  8. Dua
  9. Halal income
  10. Following the Sunnah
  11. Praying Istikharah (and should not be limited to just marriage! Pray istikharah even when making decisions like choosing a course etc)
  12. Giving thanks to Allah (“If you give thanks, I’ll give you more” [14:7])
  13. Charity (does not decrease your money!)
  14. Tying ties of kinship
  15. Waking up early (for verily, there is much barakah when you stay up from Fajr till Sunrise)
  16. Marriage
  17. Salah
  18. Istighfar

*I Β just realised that it is quite brief. Feel free to ask me to elaborate (and insha’Allah if my memory serves me well I’ll be able to explain to you) on any points. Insha’Allah the next part is longer.

22 thoughts on “Notes from Productive Muslim Seminar # 1

  1. ahem.. *cough*i think i know who they are *cough* and also positively jealous of u, i think, haha πŸ˜€
    btw..my CEO has given a rather simple formula for productivity (Productivity = Focus + Energy)… if only it were that easy.. πŸ˜€
    I found this quite powerful :”Self-accountability (Two angels on our shoulders are watching us)”..jazakumallahu khair for sharing sis! πŸ™‚
    and and and..I just realized..your doing such an amazing job sharing these gems..sharing the barakah.. Allah reward you!
    btw, is IIUM your university?

    • Wa iyyaki! Lol, no need to mention names eh? πŸ˜‰ I’ll post the notes here insha’Allah so that it feels like you’ve attended the seminar too πŸ™‚

      Yeaa indeed he did give a simple formula. It’s definitely not easy but something to strive towards insha’Allah! I found the part where he mentioned that ‘do it when you have no mood for it.’ quite useful. I mean how true, I’ve been in that situation where I have to force myself to do work and end up spending a long time focusing on it. But doesn’t always work on me hehe.

      Al-Hamdulillah sis.. I think all the bloggers spreading about Islam are doing a good job, you too masha’Allah. May Allah reward everyone!
      and yes to your last question πŸ™‚

  2. Oh wow, notes from your seminar! Jazakiallah khair for sharing sis! I especially like the developing discipline points (coz sometimes I sorely lack self-discipline, much to my sadness :P)

    Ditto for what Nasmira said about the two recording angels. More often than not, we tend to forget about those two watchers. I think we would be a lot different if we were constantly aware of them πŸ™‚

    By the way, were any examples given on how the Messengers were productive? It’s always interesting to know some tidbit about them πŸ™‚

    And please keep sharing! This is me attending the seminars through you insha Allah! πŸ˜€

    • Wa iyyaki! Lol sis, you’re not alone really.. I find it very difficult to be consistent in doing something because well, I lack discipline :/ Which is why Prophet SAW said that the best of deeds is when you do it consistently.

      Now that you mention, he might have mentioned about Prophet SAW (but I was too busy copying from his slides). However I remember a question asked by someone in the audience: Did the Prophet SAW multi task? His reply was that, the Prophet SAW never did two things at once. Even when he was talking to a person, he would fully concentrate on the conversation unlike now where we would message a friend whilst chatting with our mom for example lol.

      • I read something similar in a small booklet describing his character. That if the Prophet (sallalaahu alayhi wasallam) was walking or standing and a person came up to him to talk, he would turn his whole body towards that person and give his full attention.

        You know, unlike us, who would just turn our heads for a quick chat before going on our way, hehe.

        It’s a simple thing, but it’s still one of the numerous ways in which the Prophet (sallalaahu alayhi wasallam) made people feel as if they were special. I think it’s really sweet! No wonder they adored him! πŸ˜€

      • Masha’Allah sis πŸ™‚ We can really learn a lot from him especially his akhlaq. So amazing! Jazakillah khayr for sharing that! I read an article recently that when one of Prophet SAW’s family member were to call him when they needed help with something, he would stop whatever he was doing and replied, “Labayyka!” (at your service!). And he is the Prophet of Allah! My heart melted when I read that lol.

  3. Yeah..I read the same, in an article in MuslimMatters, and just like what u said,,my heart melted and all I did the whole day was smile =) …
    i was constantly smiling imagining the blessed man respond like that..just makes my heart yearn even more to see him 😦 πŸ™‚
    and in fact, it was not just his family members, he would say “labayyka” even when his servant called him, IMAGINE that!! “At your service” to his servant, I don’t think anyone says that even to their bosses..lol..
    ( I think I’m in love with him, like u now..mad love. πŸ˜€ )

    (sorry for digressing..but reading your comment above,I just couldn’t help myself)

    • Oh masha’Allah I was just thinking to myself, where did I read this! Do you know which article it was? I want to save it somewhere so that I can smile myself silly when I’m down hehe.

      Masha’Allah masha’Allah yes no wonder his Companions loved him so much.. We’re only reading about him (SAW) through his seerah..imagine living with him! No wonder many accepted Islam back in his time just by observing his beautiful akhlaq. And I didn’t know he said ‘Labayyka’ to his servants too! Subhan’Allah.. I think I’m so so in love with him too now lol ❀

    • Lol! I just have to poke into this comment. I hear you about the made love! πŸ˜›

      I especially turn into a pile of sappy goo whenever I read or listen to anything which talks about the relationship between Aisha (radi allah `anha) and the Prophet (sallalaahu alayhi wasallam). The way he treats her is downright adorable, I tell you! πŸ˜€

      Do you guys knows the story of “the knot”? The one where Aisha asks the Prophet (sallalaahu alayhi wasallam) about her “knot”? It’s my absolute favorite! πŸ˜€

      • Yeah subhan’Allah.. I love the stories too about both Prophet SAW and Aishah RA when they are together πŸ™‚ It’s adoroble, have to agree with you πŸ™‚

        No I’ve not heard of it! 😦 Share with us insha’Allah! Post it on your blog or something πŸ˜€

      • I want to know the “knots” story too.. πŸ˜€

        Wow..your post was about productivity and we are discussing LOVE..ooo la la… πŸ˜€

        And since I like linking everything up..this is my summary..

        The more you love Allah (swt) and Prophet Muhammad (pbuh), the more content u shall be, so the more productive you will be…

        Sooo, there’s an even simpler formula for productivity:

        Love = Productivity

        (much easier than focus, energy and all..lol :D)

      • I know right lol! πŸ˜€ You should write an article about this sis! One of the ways to be productive is when you love Allah SWT and His Messenger, you will strive to be a more productive Muslim! Lol.. or you can suggest this formula to your CEO. You’re right, I think it’s easier to follow πŸ˜›

      • SubhanAllah..U just spoke my mind out here sis..
        I was actually REALLY planning to write an article for Productive Muslim about how “love=productivity”, after posting that comment..
        I was already drawing a mental draft in my head..and planning to dedicate that article to you and sis Xahu…
        and here, I see u asking me to write the very same!
        Aha..Love connects hearts.. =)
        I love for the sake of Allah swt! πŸ™‚
        ( I hereby promise I shall not spam this blog post any further with my comments and disturb you with “approve” “approve” “approve comment” ..lol)

      • Masha’Allah you’ll do that? dedicate it to us? tehehehe.. I’m just kidding πŸ˜› I hope you write about it because it’s so true honestly! Makes more sense that the previous eqn.

        Love connects hearts, definitely thus since I love both of you for His sake, pressing the approve button frequently does not disturb me one bit lol πŸ˜› No worries about it sis, khayr insha’Allah πŸ˜€

  4. Here’s the link to the article..
    http://muslimmatters.org/2012/02/14/abdullah-hasan-the-five-languages-of-love/

    (No wonder we are in love.. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ )

    “‘Δ€’ishah narrated that the Prophet never raised his hand to any of his wives or servants. If we look at his marriages we see that he was gentle with all his wives in both speech and action. When a member of his family or a servant of his would call on him, he would reply saying: β€œLabbayka! (at your service).”

  5. Pingback: Notes from Productive Muslim seminar #2 | Fastabiqul Khairat

  6. Pingback: Notes from Productive Muslim Seminar #3 LAST! | Fastabiqul Khairat

  7. The prophet said, ” The strongest among you all is he who control himself at the greatest provocation'”
    The entire umma should borrow a leave from this wise statement of the prophet and learn how to be patient and persevere in all cases as allmighty Allah will surely be by your side.

  8. JazakAllah Khayr for sharing the important reminder ya Akhi! We are often not very patient in times of distress but insha’Allah by constant reminding each other we are able to persevere through it!

Leave a Reply

