Reminded in my salaah..

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh,

I just wanted to share something peculiar which happened to me today whilst I was praying. I had a lot of things going on in my head during Asr prayers so obviously, my kusyu’ wasn’t exactly there. During my last raka’ah, I was reciting Surah al-Kauthar and as we all know, it’s the shortest suraah consisting of only 3 ayaah.

The strangest thing was that I couldn’t recall the second and third ayaah and instead, was reciting from another Suraah. I repeated Suraah al-Kauthar the second time and was still mixing the ayaah from another Suraah. The third time… still the same. I changed to a different Suraah and after salaah, I opened my Qur’an to re-read Surah al-Kauthar again when the Suraah which I kept confusing with caught my eyes.  So this is the ayaah which I kept repeating in my salaah today:

110:3

So glorify the Praises of your Lord, and ask for His Forgiveness. Verily, He is the One Who accepts the repentance and forgives. [Surah An-Nasr:3]

My jaw dropped when I read it! It was as though Allah was telling me – remember Me in your salaah and not something else! The next time you start to lose kusyu’ in your prayers, remember that He knows what is running through your head. It’s stating the obvious of course since Allah is Al-‘Aleem (The All-Knowing) but sometimes we forget this once we start our prayers. Our minds start to wander and if we don’t catch ourselves fast enough, our salaah has little or no value when it is filled with nothing but the Dunya.

A reminder to myself first especially..

4 thoughts on “Reminded in my salaah..

  1. Ok that just gave me chills! :O

    This is our biggest problem with regard to our Salah, myself included. Sometimes it’ll take just one stray thought and next thing I know, my mind is somewhere else. Constant vigilance in Salah is difficult, but then again, if it was easy, we wouldn’t deserve our rewards, right? 🙂

    May Allah subhanahu wa ta’aala strengthen our khush’u and make us among those for whom the world stands still when they stand in front of their Lord. Ameen.

    • That’s why we have the nawafil prayers to make up for the deficiencies in our prayers 🙂 It’s true sis, having kyushu’ is the hardest but can always work on it insha’Allah. Just take effort, lots of ta’awudz and dua 🙂 Aameen to your dua sis ! 😀

Leave a Reply

