New books! :D

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh!

I dropped by this Sunnah bookshop on the way back home today. I had no intention of  spending any money but I ended up purchasing 4 books – and that was after ‘eliminating’ a couple of other books. The bookshop stocked up on new books because the last time I went these were not on the shelves yet. I was attracted to the slick book covers first. The crisp new pages and that new-book smell enticed me even more . The books are classical collections so the covers are designed to reflect that… is it even allowed to buy books because of its cover? lol..

Anyway, here are the titles:

  1. Disciplining the Soul by Ibn al-Jawzi
  2. The Journey of the Strangers by Ibn Rajab Al-Hanbali & Abu Bakr Al-Ajurri
  3. Diseases of the Hearts & Their cures by Shaykhul Islam Ibn Taymiyyah
  4. Dua: The weapon of the believer by Abu Ammar Yasir Qadhi

Here’s a task for you: Help me choose 2 books that I should pack in my luggage! I still have not decided unfortunately :/

 

9 thoughts on “New books! :D

  1. Oh I can totally relate to this sis!! Lol!

    Last month, I went with my aunt to an Islamic Bookstore coz she wanted to buy a Qur’an translation. I had absolutely no intention of buying ANY book and was determined I was NOT going to be seduced!

    What did you think happened? That’s right! The shiny new covers and the crisp smell of new books and the rows and rows of titles winking at me crumbled my willpower to dust!! 😦

    If I could, I would have bought the whole bookshop, but I had to settle for 6 books and my aunt had to finally drag me out of there coz I seemed to be too mesmerized! 😛

    So where are you going? And two out of these four? I think I’ll choose “The Journey of the Strangers” and “Dua: The weapon of the believer” 🙂 I recently got the latter myself, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

    • LOL sis!! You settled for 6 books! And I thought 4 books was bad enough hehe.. But yay, at least I have someone who understands how I feel each time I step inside the bookstore. My friend once said, she does not mind being locked in a bookshop and spend the whole night reading lol. What books did you buy btw?

      I had a short break so I was home for the hols but I’m back in Msia now :/ I had to make a split second decision on the two books to bring – so it was the book by Sh Yasir Qadhi and Ibn Jawzi lol. If I had a minute longer, I would have brought back everything 😛

Leave a Reply

