Freedom to Syria!

Assalam alaikoum wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh,

This is such an impressive form of activism taken in Australia! There are many ways to spread awareness about the situation in Syria and this is one creative way of doing so.

I haven’t been following with the updates on Syria because most often than not, there are gruesome pictures of people being brutally murdered in the news and I cannot bear to see them. Ya Rabb, I feel so helpless that I can’t do much for them except dua. Can you imagine being trapped in a place where you have nowhere to run and hide and yet there are tyrants hunting you? I don’t think anyone is able to truly fathom what it feels like to be in their position.

Latest news is that the mujahideen are in Syria to help and insha’Allah victory. May Allah reward them for their sacrifice! Next place they should head is Myanmar to help the Rohingya Muslims. Subhan’Allah, so many of our Muslim brothers and sisters are being ruthlessly killed =,(

There’s a story which was narrated by Sh Navaid Aziz in the video (I’ve posted this before but reposting below) about the Sahabah, Abu Dhar (May Allah be pleased with him). When Abu Dhar was asked what made him decide to be the guarantor for the boy, his reply was “I saw a Muslim in need and I did not want anyone to say that a Muslim was in need and no one was there to help him”. I cried watching the video when it reminded me of Muslims around the world being oppressed and slaughtered and yet we are helpless. The Ummah is so weak that we are not even able to defend ourselves.. ya Rabb =,(

8 thoughts on “Freedom to Syria!

  1. Assalamualaikum, it has been awhile. Happy Ramadhan to you. Anyway, I’m with you in this, things that happen in Syria really upsetting, I saw so many terrifying video about innocent people being killed everywhere. It just sad to see. Syria remind me something about Kiamat, I read an article about how Kiamat happen and one of them involving Syria. In that article one day the world will be in burn with the power of Allah SWT, All the non muslim and muslim will be chase by fire, there were no place to hide from it except Syria. From what I read, All people from around the world will gather in Syria and live there in peace. However since the place is too crowded, crime started to arise. Now everytime I heard news about syria, I dont know why I suddenly want to be eaten by fire than going there. The cruelty to its own society is just too much and remind me about the Jahiliah time. Rasullullah SW was right human at end of time are back to jahiliah. Hopefully we are not one of them Amin.

    BTW, I wish UWA start early for 2nd semester, Curtin has already started last week. I keep wonder off to city all the time to pass the time. =P

    • Wa alaik salam wa Rahmatullaah Sis! yes masha’Allah it’s been awhile since we spoke. All well with you over there insha’Allah? πŸ™‚ Ramadan Mubarak to you too! That sounds like an interesting article sis.. can you share it with me insha’Allah? I would love to learn more about it! I’ve heard another version that syria will be destroyed and then that’s when dajjal will appear.. allahu alam, I need to check my sources again but that’s according to what I recall (because I was slightly surprised to read it). You are right, I hope we don’t have to face such fitnah in our lifetime. Not sure if I’m strong enough to handle those fitnah 😦

      p/s/ lol, you’ve been shopping a lot I’m guessing? πŸ˜› is this your last semester?

  2. As-salaam alaikum wa rahmatullahi sis

    I saw pictures of this you shared on Facebook and masha Allah, even then I thought it was quite inspiring πŸ™‚

    I know, it’s terrible the situation in Syria. I too refrain from updates because of the gruesome pictures. I watched a video of the massacre of all those children and ended up crying all over the computer 😦

    Truly this is a severe test from Allah and to be quite honest, I really don’t know what to think about this whole revolution thing happening across Arabia.

    Some I know support it while others say rebelling against the Muslim ruler is a grave sin and not in accordance with Islam. What do you think about it?

    When I think about the situation in Syria, well, the Alawi’s can hardly be called Muslims, can they? So I wonder whether it really constitutes rebelling against the ruler?

    • Wa alaik salam wa Rahmatullaah wa Barakaatuh Sis,

      Masha’Allah yeahhh! I wish I was part of it.. what a good way to raise awareness by reenacting the situation in Syria.

      I’m with you sis.. A Syrian sister I know was telling me that this fitnah that is going on in Middle Eastern countries, especially Syria, has already been predicted as stated by saheeh hadeeth which she was telling me about. She has family members still there so she can only remain patient at the moment. But I do wonder too, if this is a sign of the coming of Day of Judgement (i.e. mass killings)? Then another version which I read too is that Syria will be destroyed and Dajjal will appear.. I’ll need to get my sources right but did you see it being posted on facebook somewhere? I haven’t been that active on FB lately so I can’t recall where I read it from 😦

      As for what I think about rebelling against Muslim ruler, till today I still do not have any stand on it to be honest. Correct me if I’m wrong but ‘rulers’ do not necessarily refer to only ‘Muslim ruler’ but also non-Muslim ruler.. So according the hadeeth, we are not supposed to go against any ruler – whether Muslim or not. Allah knows best

      I have read both sides of the argument about going against the ruler, and like I said I’m torn on which side to take. A Malaysian ustadh who is on the Salaf, said that yes, we have to obey the ruler but to what extent? If the government orders for our property or land to be taken, our children to be killed, women to be raped etc – are we still going to sit back and allow this to happen? Will we still say, “No, we should still listen to our ruler despite the atrocities against us”? I doubt anyone with the right mind will react in such a way. In fact, if a person is killed whilst trying to protect his property, he is considered a martyr, what more if he is trying to protect his family and women from being killed?

      We are not walking in the same shoes of those who have seen their own family members being murdered and property destroyed or taken away from them, thus it is always easy for us to say, “No it’s haram to go against the ruler”! I know of someone who said that the reason for the violence of government is the result of people protesting against them etc. But think about it: If TRULY the people are satisfied with the situation of the country, then I don’t see why there is even a need to revolt against the govt. Common sense tells me that there are underlying reasons for that. Like my country for example, al-Hamdulillah we are given our rights and I’m satisfied living here so if someone were to suggest a protest here, then to me that’s not acceptable.

      As for the hadeeth, I am not doubting its authenticity or that I am going against what Prophet sallallahu alayhi salam has said BUT I believe that every hadeeth has its context which we should understand first. Why did the Prophet sallallahu alayhi salam said it? In what situation? What are the conditions for this hadeeth? Something like this which is mutashabihat has many interpretations so just because one scholar gives fatwa, that does not mean he is entirely right/wrong. Allah knows best.

      As for the Alawites, yes they are NOT Muslims. We had this discussion in class about Shi’ahs once and if we look further into their Creed, one or two of their sects are closest to Sunnis but Alawites do not even belong within the fold of Islam. Allahu Alam.

      Sorry for rambling.. finally I get it off my chest and discuss this with someone! I had so many questions in my head for a long time and I get very frustrated when people say, ‘well it’s their fault for starting the revolution first’. wth! Would like to hear what you think about what I wrote.

      • I didn’t know it included non-Muslim rulers too. Will have to check on that. With all the tension happening in my own country with the overthrowing of the President and mass protests breaking out every few days, and then the crisis in the Middle East, I’ve been forced to think about this a lot.

        According to the wording of the hadith in question (the translation of course) it says “You should hear and obey the ruler, even if he flogs your back and takes your wealth, then still hear and obey.Β”” It’s part of a longer hadith in Sahih Muslim where a Sahabi asks about future events and what he should do if he were alive to witness it.

        I agree, each hadith and aayah has it’s own context and reasoning for why it was said, but ahadith about future predictions are pretty straightforward aren’t they? And there is always wisdom behind admonitions. When you think about it, look at how many lives the revolutions have cost the Ummah. People on both sides commit heinous acts which are in direct contradiction to the teachings of Islam. Allahu A’lam!

        From what I’ve read, most of the Salafi scholars advocate acting according to this hadith. Also, obeying the people who has authority over us is also mentioned in the Qur’an isn’t it?Certainly their understanding of the deen will be better than us, but a part of me thinks the same way as you said. It is easy for us to preach so because we’re not the ones being oppressed.

        But then I think about my country’s recent coup against the government and I absolutely cannot figure out the reason for it. Our rights were not abused, in fact, the government went to great lengths to improve the citizens welfare. But things like establishing diplomatic ties with Israel, trying to straighten a corrupt judiciary etc… made the people revolt. There was no oppression whatsoever in my opinion. And Allah knows best.

        So my point is, the rulers are not always at fault. Sometimes it’s just the people. Of course I don’t know the situation with Syria, this is just how it went in my stupid country. So in this case, I think my people are wrong. From what I’ve read, scholars say that there is a certain protocol we have to follow if we’re dissatisfied with the ruler and that rebellion is not an option to get rid of him.

        (the great divide in the Ummah came because of revolting against the ruler, didn’t it? The Khawarij and the Shi’a rebelled against the caliphs and now we have several dozen sects because of that)

        I haven’t yet come to a firm stand on this issue because both sides give pretty good reasoning for their view, for and against rebelling. But whenever I think about the situation in my country, I find myself leaning more towards the hadith and condemning my people.

        With so many terrible things happening now, it’s becoming more and more apparent that we are nearing the End of times, aren’t we? And this period will be fraught with calamities, isn’t it? And being patient when you face them is critical. Maybe the hadith, when it says to be patient, is a test of eeman. A test of tawakkul in Allah and a test of how fully we obey our Prophet (sallalaahu alayhi wasallam). Allahu A’lam.

        p.s. Did my rambling make sense? Everything is so muddled in my head I might not have expressed myself clearly. This is what happens when you can’t pick a side 😦

      • Insha’Allah I’ll need to do my reading again with regards to the hadeeth to refresh my memory.. It’s been awhile since I read it 😦 But compared from the hadeeth you quoted, I think I read a different version of it allahu alam. I’ll get back to you on that insha’Allah.

        Don’t worry I understood everything you wrote insha’Allah πŸ™‚ I hope I make some sense too lol.

        I agree with what you said about Salafi scholars advising us to obey the hadeeth. Like you, I would prohibit anyone who wants to protest against the government when there is no oppression. We may not always agree with some of the things the government are doing, but as long as the basic rights are fulfilled, then there really is no reason to rebel. And I do agree with what you said too that the ruler is not always at fault. In the case of revolution in Middle East, I think this issue lies deeper than we read in the newspaper. We do not fully understand the situation but as you mentioned, it has caused many fatalities in the process. If you read Fareed Zakaria’s take on the issue in Syria, he said that the full situation in Syria is still unknown at the moment. So, we wouldn’t know what was the cause of this uprising? But looking at the situation now with people being brutally murdered, I am for the Syrian people who are fighting for their lives at the moment, trying to flee from persecution. If you remember in Libya, the Libyans formed their own army to protect their people. Are we wrong to say that they are going against Islam just because they are trying to protect themselves? 😦

        But the question that I have (and still no answer from anyone) is that whether the same would apply if the government oppresses the people? It would be senseless to say that they should still obey the government. A good example is the Rohingya Muslims who are currently being oust from their own lands and thousands have been killed as a result. If they choose to retaliate against the government, again the question, is that going against the hadeeth? I’m so clueless on which side to take! 😦

        The signs for the coming of Day of Judgement is already so clear to us.. now we are just waiting for the major signs to appear 😦 Perhaps you are correct that this could be a test for us if we would still follow Prophet’s advice or question him. And perhaps that is the reason why another hadeeth on some Muslims (hopefully us insha’Allah!) being like strangers because they choose to not follow the majority who are heedless in their ways. Allah knows best.

  3. Assalamualaikum, sorry late reply, owh yeah, about the article, I read it somewhere at malay article, I can’t remember what website it is. But, I did make some research about “api yang menghalau manusia”, It happen after the death of Prophet Isa (bless upon him).

    Omg since I didn’t do any travelling during winter break, yes, yes I did a lot of shopping. Alhamdulillah I managed to control that habit this Ramadhan. Owh yeah, I’m going to Singapore on the first week of Syawal for 6 days, just a short vacation with families. =) When are you coming back to Perth?

    • Wa alaik salam wa Rahmatullaah Hazimah! I’m very sorry too for the late reply! Before I forget, taqaballahu minna wa minkum! Eid Mubarak πŸ™‚

      Sounds interesting, insha’Allah I’ll try to find it online. Thanks for highlighting it to me! πŸ™‚

      Lol, so what did you buy? I havent been going shopping in ages! How was Ramadhan in Perth for you? πŸ™‚ Insha’Allah when I have the means I’ll be back in Perth. Really miss the people and place!! 😦

Leave a Reply

